small space living: light switch plates.

March 8, 2011 § Leave a comment

I dislike standard light switch plates.
But I can’t afford to buy super pretty tile or painted ones,
so I made my own decorative plates by glue-sticking magazine cutouts on the front of the plate. eHow has instructions here on how to do it yourself, but honestly I didn’t use a foam brush, sandpaper, or decoupage glue. I used scissors, a magazine, a glue stick, and a pen to poke holes.

Tip #2: Focus on making the things you interact with every day your own.
I don’t have enough room to put up all of my art or hang all of my photos. Sometimes I struggle to find a way to add a small degree of interest to an area or object, but this trick was easy and made a big difference. Focus on the things you interact with every day. Every day I have to turn the lights on and off, every day I touch that stupid little switch, every day I look at the plate. And every day I look at a plate that I created and that isn’t bland.




xo

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading small space living: light switch plates. at home.

meta

