Toro y Moi & Braids.

April 4, 2011 § 1 Comment

Last night at the 7th street entry.
I finally saw Toro y Moi (aka Chaz & band) perform for the first time at SXSW. The venue was a bit odd, sleepy festival goers strewed & slumped over bean bags and all, but the music was engaging. Picking apart the layers of any Toro y Moi song is enjoyable, but, this was especially the case last night because Jason mixed the show. Always better to hear talent mixed by talent. I spent most of my time listening & dancing but I did take a few photos during the show and while I was backstage. I wish I was more invested in capturing moments visually but when it comes to live music I can’t seem to care… I’m listening, after all.





If you’d like to check out Toro y Moi’s new album you can download it here, although I’m not sure how long the link will be available. Readers can always contact me for albums since I share frequently.

Now! This post would be a waste if I didn’t mention Braids. Download their album Native Speaker here. Not my link so I’m not sure how long it’ll be up.

I first saw/heard Braids at the Pop Montreal event at SXSW, put on by the amazingly talented Hillary. Her taste is fantastic and the Pop Montreal festival should be on any music lover’s radar. The artists are fairly young, but the band has been working together for around five years. They’re also finishing up a really long tour, go see them if you can. We only interacted briefly but they were sweet. Recommended if you like: scopey female harmonies, patient development, ambient versions of Bjork and/or the Dirty Projectors, vocal looping & panning, and enough swelling reverb to swim in.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Toro y Moi & Braids.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Toro y Moi & Braids. at home.

meta

