Alec Soth.

April 9, 2011 § 2 Comments

Born & based in Minnesota,
Soth’s work is such a pleasure to view.
Following my first browse, I had saved 29 of his images to share here. That’s a lot. Don’t worry, I edited my choices and now have …24. I think what draws me to this style of photography is the balance between the weirdness, wonderfulness, and awfulness of all those unknown spaces that you didn’t grow up in, but someone certainly did. Other pieces are reflective of his attention to color, and an eye for the curiously mundane. Many repeat a squarely centered object of focus, a spatial composition that is often critiqued but works well here.



And for some reason that I can’t rein in, the photos have revived some of the feelings I experienced as I read Travels with Charley by John Steinbeck. I still haven’t made up my mind about that book, although that in itself might mark something worth appreciating. From Steinbeck, “I have always lived violently, drunk hugely, eaten too much or not at all, slept around the clock or missed two nights of sleeping, worked too hard and too long in glory, or slobbed for a time in utter laziness. I’ve lifted, pulled, chopped, climbed, made love with joy and taken my hangovers as a consequence, not as a punishment.”

Cheers to that.




















This last one, the letter, is one of many that can be found on his site.
alecsoth.com

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Alec Soth.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Alec Soth. at home.

meta

