The easiest easy healthy habit, ever.

May 31, 2011 § 5 Comments

Hi, my name is Jacqueline,
and I am a nutrition-vegetariafreak. THERE I SAID IT.
But I haven’t always been this way. In high school I ate Texas bread pizza and a Twix bar, washed down with a diet Pepsi almost every day. Whenever I felt as though I needed to make more of an effort, I would pack myself a Lean Cuisine and call that healthy. Ten years later and those sorts of lunches repulse me, for a lot of reasons. Mostly because the changes I’ve felt and seen in my body have been readily and increasingly apparent. I now understand food in relation to the environment, community, values, ethics, and health. But, breaking old eating/cooking habits is really difficult, and strategies help. So! Here, I offer the easiest easy healthy habit trick ever to help eat more fresh foods.

Wash fruits & vegetables as soon as you bring them home, and then store them.

If you have the time, dry greens before refrigerating to cut back on moisture.
I am capable of morphing into the laziest eater you’ve met since ham-on-the-floor-from-two-weeks-ago, and this habit helps me tremendously. Honest. Knowing that I can open my fridge and eat anything inside of it (that’s fresh) immediately, well, that makes the choice between a bag of chips and a bowl of grapes a lot simpler. Oh, but I don’t buy chips…because I’d eat them. That’s the other easiest thing ever: don’t buy things that aren’t good for you, especially if you battle self-control.

I also move grapes, tomatoes, sometimes berries, whatever, into bowls so that they’re 100% nom-ready. Jussayin.

Tagged: ,

§ 5 Responses to The easiest easy healthy habit, ever.

  • indyink says:

    Oh girl. That food looks SO good. I actually heard bits of “The Hallelujah Chorus” when the picture of your fridge popped up.

    Is that kale? How do you prepare it?

    • I hear that chorus too! Damn I love food. The greens pictured in this post are collard greens (I usually sauté them with any sort of sliced onion and garlic, add salt and SHADONE!) but I also have kale in the fridge at ALL times. Kale is my favorite green.

      KALE!
      1. You can bake kale to make chips, here’s a good recipe for that: http://glutenfreegirl.com/baked-kale-chips/
      Although you can also just spray oil and add salt if you’re in a rush.

      2. Sauté garlic (I usually add shallots too) in pan with a little bit of oil (sesame or olive) until the greens are *just* beginning to break down and tenderize. Keeping some of their rigidity means you’re also keeping their full nutritional goodness.

      3. Steam the kale (I use one of these: http://www.amazon.com/Progressive-International-Stainless-Steamer-Basket/dp/B0006SNLP2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1306875119&sr=8-1), and then just put a but of Braggs’ liquid aminos on top. I use Braggs as a substitute for soy sauce, it’s healthier, lower in sodium, and tastes better in my opinion.

      I’ll also just nosh on raw kale if it’s a good batch. Those are the easiest & quickest ways to prepare kale by itself. Lots and lots of great recipes at http://fatfreevegan.com/ though!

      xo

  • wow your fridge is so clean! lol but really, this is a great trick! Not buying unhealthy food in the first place works best for me. I can’t tell you how many times i’ve picked up the oreos or whatever at the grocery store, carried them around, and then gone back to put them back! haha great tips!

    • Thank you! I’m a cleaning machine, especially when I have a lot of other things I *should* be doing. You have more self-control than I do, because if an item makes it into my cart, it is definitely coming home with me and going into my belly five minutes later. I’m hungry just typing about oreos.

  • Hey would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m looking to start my own blog soon but
    I’m having a tough time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The easiest easy healthy habit, ever. at home.

meta

