New places.

November 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

I don’t know what one would do in Odenton, Maryland if not drink beer and play chess in the park.

Or what you’d do in Savage if not drink beer at Rams Head Tavern and climb around an abandoned mill.

But in DC, what can’t you do? I haven’t been since I was a tiny creature without hair nor memory, so, I was decidedly overwhelmed and teary eyed taking in the hyper-political structures and overall energy. Studying rhetoric means you’ve probably studied the discourse of Lincoln and MLK Jr. for years now. Or (like me) you were first seduced by postmodern theory through this analysis of public memorializing via the Vietnam veteran memorial. Reading that piece was important to my understanding of the diverse depths of rhetoric as a discipline and I’ll never forget reading it and wanting to see the memorial in person. I didn’t have time to experience everything as I’d like to, the reflection pool was in a state of reconstructive disrepair, but, I’ll go back. Soonish. And I’ll be really happy when I do.


Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New places. at home.

meta

